Royally shite

Posted on 26/04/2011

0


Frankly, there are some awful souvenirs for Friday’s Royal Wedding. And those are just the official ones.

As much as I’d like to, I can’t pour scorn over all the merchandise because there are some spectacular successes. Not “spectacular” because they capture the moment forever, but spectacular in terms of human ingenuity and raw entrepreneurship.

Columns Design where I work has been documenting the best of the worst Royal Wedding souvenirs, and it’s well worth a gander to see the range of cling-ons and spin-offs a media event like this creates.

As for my, my two favourites are the Freeview HD ads for their silent celebration of all things British:

… and Fiona Goble’s Kit your own Royal Wedding for taking the knitting fad one step too far. Though I much prefer a knitted Royal Family to the real one.

Knit your own Royal Wedding

I’m still scouring London for the complete works, but rest assured it will all be captured and posted under the #rw2011promotions hashtag on Twitter.

